Gods Heart for Children – Hamisi Shares his Story

hamim

I was born into a Muslim family. At that time my dad was working with the Tanzanian military, spending much of his time in the barracks. I grew up in the wonderful environment of my beloved mother. She was a great inspiration to me. One day when I was 17 years old a group of Christian believers came to our village and conducted an open air meeting with singing joyful songs and prayer. It was there that I first heard about Jesus. As a teenager I made a decision there and then and surrendered my life to God. It was at that point that I was deeply impacted and sensed God’s love in a very real and special way. My mother soon became a believer as well. When the Imams heart this, they threatened us on hearing that we had embraced a different faith. But thank God, they did not put their threats into action!

By God’s grace, my mum found work in Eldoret, Kenya which caused us to move from Tanzania. I soon attended a lively church and ministering to children soon became something I loved to do. Soon I got connected with GFI where I got more involved in reaching children to Jesus. When I chose Jesus, I noticed the difference between a child being educated as a Muslim and one educated in the Christian faith. For Muslims, the religious education of their children is very important because they want the children to have a good Muslim foundation. The children receive lessons every day during the week – even during the holidays. The lessons are very strict and time intensive.

One day God showed me in a dream children who were stuck in a swamp calling for help. Since then, I have felt a great burden to reach children with the gospel. It deeply inspires me when I experience how God’s Word changes children’s hearts! I can remember an event in Lodwar, where a child came to me and crying bitterly. He wanted to get right with God and give his life to Jesus! I prayed with him and witnessed over time that God had brought a change into his life. I love working at GFI because they have a passion for the lost, and especially for the lost children. GFI has personally influenced me very much in a positive way. When we evangelize and also when doing preparations at home at the base in Eldoret, we have devotions every morning. I can thus begin my day spiritually strengthened, and thus I have grown very much in my faith. I can also learn how to plan and perform an event well.My vision for the children has grown over time: I would like to create with God’s help a place where the children can play and be equipped with the word of God. So even more children could be reached with the love of God. I pray that God will help me achieve this vision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Gottes Herz für Kinder – Unser Mitarbeiter Hamisi erzählt

hamim

Ich wurde in einer muslimischen Familie in Tanzania geboren. Mein Vater arbeitete für das tansanische Militär und verbrachte daher die meiste Zeit auf dem Militärgelände und ich war mit meiner Mutter alleine. Als ich 17 Jahre alt war, hörte ich bei einer Evangelisation von Christus und war so berührt, dass ich mein Leben Gott übergab. Seid dem Zeipunkt bin ich von Gottes Liebe erfüllt. Meine Mutter wurde bald darauf auch gläubig. Als die Imame dies erfuhren, bedrohten sie uns, da wir einen anderen Glauben angenommen hatten. Doch Gott sei Lob und Dank, setzten sie ihre Drohungen nicht in die Tat um! Als meine Mutter in Kenia Arbeit fand, sind wir aus Tansania weggezogen. So sind wir in Eldoret gelandet, wo ich nun immer wieder bei GFI in der Kindermission mitarbeite. Mittlerweile bin ich verheiratet und habe drei Kinder. Ich bin Gott sehr dankbar für meine Familie, sie ist ein großes Geschenk von ihm.

Als ich mich für Jesus entschieden habe, merkte ich den großen Unterschied zwischen einem Kind, dass als Muslim erzogen wird und einem, das im christlichen Glauben erzogen wird. Für Muslime ist die religiöse Ausbildung ihrer Kinder sehr wichtig, denn sie wollen, dass die Kinder ein gutes muslimisches Fundament bekommen. Dabei bekommen die Kinder jeden Tag in der Woche Unterricht – sogar während der Ferien. Der Unterricht ist sehr streng und zeitintensiv.

Eines Tages zeigte mir Gott in einem Bild Kinder, die in einem Sumpf steckten und um Hilfe riefen. Seit dem spüre ich eine große Bürde, Kinder mit dem Evangelium zu erreichen. Es begeistert mich zutiefst, wenn ich erleben kann, wie Gottes Wort Kinderherzen verändert! Ich kann mich an eine Veranstaltung in Lodwar erinnern, in der ein Kind zu mir kam und bitterlich weinte. Er wollte unbedingt sein Leben Jesus geben! Ich betete mit ihm und spürte, wie Gott in ihm etwas Neues schaffte. Ich habe den Jungen nie mehr wieder gesehen, aber ich glaube fest daran, dass Gott mit ihm ist. Ich arbeite sehr gerne bei GFI, weil sie eine Leidenschaft für die Verlorenen haben, und dabei vor allem auch für die verlorenen Kinder. GFI hat mich persönlich schon sehr zum Positiven beeinflusst. Bei jeder Evangelisation haben wir jeden Morgen eine Andacht. Ich kann so meinen Tag geistlich gestärkt beginnen und bin dadurch in meinem Glauben sehr gewachsen. Auch kann ich hier lernen, wie man eine Veranstaltung gut plant und durchführt. Meine Vision für die Kinder ist über die Zeit gewachsen: Ich möchte gerne mit Gottes Hilfe einen Ort schaffen, an dem die Kinder spielen können und dabei mit dem Wort Gottes ausgerüstet werden. So könnten noch mehr Kinder mit der Liebe Gottes erreicht werden. Ich bete, dass Gott mir hilft, diese Vision in Erfüllung zu bringen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *